Limerick’s Got Talent 2015

by Gina Lu

LGT 2015

 

Limerick’s Got Talent has been an annual event since 2009 and this year will be my fifth time taking part.  I am going for it again this year despite taking on a plethora of other tasks but sure, life is for living!

This will be my second time I will be performing my own song.  The song I am performing this year is called Comfort Zone. It’s something that I wrote in 2012 and has taken 3 years to complete.  I intend to dedicate it to a friend who passed away in 2014.

Lyrically the song came naturally.  Once I had the lyrics written, the task of a melody followed.  I wanted this particular song to be so good that I had a mental block for so long on how I wanted the melody to sound.  One thing I was sure about was that I wanted it to be mainly a piano melody.  Therefore I needed a pianist’s help.  Trying to find one was a pretty tough task.  Once I found someone to help, it took about 3 months to complete the melody.

As a result of the song writing process I have been in talks about recording more songs.  This is very exciting for me as I have been writing lyrics since the age of 16 and recorded my first song at 19.  Now it really feels like the last 16 years will pay off.  The song called The Climb has been my anthem since 2009 and the words in it speak so true right now for me “Ain’t about how fast I get there, Ain’t about what’s waiting on the other side, It’s the climb”.  This is an exciting chapter in my life and one I will keep you posted on.

My involvement with Limerick’s Got Talent has been the most fun out of anything involving singing that I have done.  I have made great friends from it.  When I started in 2010 I sang covers of songs so I could display what I was vocally capable of doing.  In 2013, the last time I entered I decided to showcase the songwriter in me.  The song which was called Can’t Wait ‘Til Night was well received even though my voice got dry on stage but the audience were very patient and cheered me on.

This year, Limerick’s Got Talent is being sponsored by Arthur’s Quay and Limerick City Community Radio station and takes place over three nights in the Pery Hotel on July 16th, 17th, and 18th with the Final taking place in the Limetree Theatre on the 14th August.

I am performing on the 18th July with the hope of getting to the finals.  The money raised from the event this year will go to the Irish Wheelchair Association.  Any act (as long as it’s fit for family viewing) can enter.  Acts that have taken part so far have been songwriters, singers, rappers, dancers, contortionists, bands and actors.

Tickets for the nights of Heats cost €7.

So please come and see the talent that Limerick has to offer.  I can promise you it will be totally worth your while 🙂

One comment

Leave a Reply

